Computing & Home Tech — Smart plugs
Meross MSS315 Matter smart plug 4-pack review: requirements before you buy
The US Meross MSS315 four-pack combines Matter smart switching with app-based energy records. This source-only review maps its network and hub requirements, then marks every unpublished electrical detail.
PickBadger has a paid business relationship with Meross and earns a commission on purchases made through this page. How this works.
Short verdict
Source-only assessment No score is published because PickBadger has not handled this product. The summary below interprets only the manufacturer’s published specifications, labels and terms.
Meross clearly publishes the four-pack's Matter protocol, energy-monitoring function, 2.4 GHz and IPv6 network requirements, and need for a Matter-compatible hub. It does not publish the US model's load rating, dimensions, weight, energy accuracy or reporting interval on the official store page.
What works
- Matter protocol and multi-admin operation are explicitly described
- The Meross app provides real-time and historical energy reports
- Network and mobile operating-system requirements are published
- The official listing is an in-stock four-pack at $52.99
What doesn’t
- A Matter-compatible hub is required for the selected platform
- The US listing requires both 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi and an IPv6 network
- Maximum current, wattage and supported load types are not published
- Dimensions, weight, energy accuracy and reporting interval are absent
Specifications
| Model and region | MSS315, US version |
|---|---|
| Pack size | 4 smart plugs |
| Smart-home protocol | Matter |
| Network connectivity | Existing 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi and IPv6 network required |
| Hub requirement | Matter-compatible hub required for the selected platform |
| Mobile requirement | iOS 16.1 or later; Android 8.1 or later |
| Energy monitoring | Real-time and historical reports in the Meross app |
| Multi-admin | Supported according to Meross |
| Switch current, wattage and load types | TODO: verify |
| Energy accuracy and polling interval | TODO: verify |
| Dimensions | TODO: verify |
| Weight | TODO: verify |
Source: Meross Official Store MSS315 US four-pack product page, retrieved . View the source. Figures are the manufacturer’s own published claims, not PickBadger measurements.
Buy it if
You need four US-format smart plugs, already have a suitable Matter controller, run a 2.4 GHz network with IPv6, and want consumption history inside the Meross app.
Skip it if
You need a hub-free setup or must confirm load type, maximum current, power limit, dimensions, weight, meter accuracy or reporting frequency from the official store page before purchase.
What the four-pack listing actually covers
The official listing is specifically a US-version four-pack of model MSS315. It was shown in stock at $52.99 on the retrieval date. This regional and package detail matters: Meross sells products with similar names for other socket formats, and an electrical figure from one region should not be transferred to another.
Meross identifies three core functions. Each unit is a smart plug using Matter, the internal meter feeds real-time and historical consumption reports to the Meross app, and the manufacturer’s multi-admin description says the device can participate in more than one smart-home system. Those are published functions, not evidence that every controller exposes every field in the same way.
The store page does not list the plug’s physical dimensions or weight. It also does not say whether both receptacles of a duplex wall outlet remain accessible when a unit is installed. Product photography is not a substitute for measured clearance, so these fields remain TODO: verify.
Matter, Wi-Fi and the required controller
The network requirements are unusually explicit. Meross calls for an existing 2.4 GHz and IPv6 network. It also says a Matter-compatible hub is required for the user’s selected platform. A phone must run at least iOS 16.1 or Android 8.1.
That wording does not establish support for every router configuration, controller revision or regional platform feature. It also does not document Thread as a transport. The listed device is presented as a Matter smart Wi-Fi plug, and the requirement is 2.4 GHz networking. Matter describes the application layer and commissioning framework; it does not remove the need to check the network and controller prerequisites published by Meross.
Meross promotes a local architecture and standard cryptography as Matter benefits. Those are manufacturer statements on the product page. The listing does not publish a security-update term, local API, supported cipher list or end-of-support date, so this review does not turn the broad security language into a specific guarantee.
Energy reporting and the missing meter details
The internal electricity meter is the main distinction described on the page. Meross says its app provides live consumption reports and historical data. That is enough to establish the presence of monitoring, but not enough to judge the meter as an instrument.
No accuracy tolerance, resolution, sample frequency, polling interval, history retention or export format appears in the official listing. Meross also does not state whether energy data is available through every connected Matter platform or only through its own app. Anyone planning cost allocation, automation around power thresholds or long-term data export should obtain those details first.
The same restraint applies to remote access. The page describes connections across applications and cloud services in broad promotional language. It does not map which function is local, which depends on the Meross service, or what continues to work during an internet outage.
Switching limits are a documentation gap
A smart plug is still a mains switching device, so its electrical label matters more than its app list. The US product page does not publish input voltage, frequency, maximum current, maximum wattage, relay type or supported resistive, inductive and motor loads. No standby-power figure or safety certificate number is shown in the page text either.
This review therefore does not repeat ratings found on marketplaces or regional siblings. A buyer should inspect the current unit label and manual before connecting heaters, compressors, pumps or other demanding appliances. Until Meross exposes the US rating in its own documentation, the switch specification is unresolved.
The page also leaves the manual-button action and recovery behaviour undocumented. Multi-admin is advertised, but reset sequence, post-outage state and firmware policy are not described. These omissions do not prove a problem; they define what the official listing cannot answer.
Questions
Does the Meross MSS315 need a hub? +–
Yes. The official US four-pack page says a Matter-compatible hub is required for the platform you select. Meross does not name a bundled hub, and the listing image and package title describe plugs only. Confirm that your existing controller supports Matter before buying this pack.
What network does the US MSS315 require? +–
Meross specifies an existing 2.4 GHz and IPv6 network for this US model. The store page does not describe 5 GHz onboarding, Ethernet, Thread or Bluetooth as operating transports, so none should be assumed. The listed phone minimums are iOS 16.1 and Android 8.1.
What energy information does the MSS315 provide? +–
Meross says the plug contains an electricity meter and that its app shows real-time consumption reports plus historical data. The official store page does not state measurement accuracy, sample interval, retention period, export format or whether every Matter platform exposes the same energy fields.
What appliances can the MSS315 switch safely? +–
The official US store listing does not publish maximum current, maximum wattage, voltage range or supported load categories. Those are safety-critical limits and cannot be borrowed from another region or model. Check the current product label or obtain Meross documentation before connecting any appliance.
The bottom line
The MSS315 four-pack has a clear smart-home proposition at $52.99: Matter switching, multi-admin language and Meross-app energy history across four US plugs. Its prerequisites are equally clear: 2.4 GHz, IPv6, a compatible phone and a Matter hub. The important unresolved area is electrical and metering documentation. Maximum load, supported appliance types, accuracy, polling, dimensions and weight all remain unverified, so the score stays at zero pending an operator assessment.
More from Computing & Home Tech
Arovec Apex300 review: CADR, room-size maths and the missing running costs
Arovec publishes a 258 m³/h CADR, three room-size scenarios and a 26 to 49 dB noise range for the Apex300.
CSpring CS Ultra review: what its three-stage CPAP filter specification says
CSpring's CS Ultra is a three-stage external CPAP intake filter with stated support for 100 L/min airflow and a one-to-three-month…
KLIM Wind review: the published limits of this four-fan laptop cooling pad
The KLIM Wind is a 730-gram laptop cooling pad with four fans, a metal grid and two USB ports.